School Holidays Australia
Explore page

School Holidays Australia

School Holidays and School Terms in Australia

Check the key dates below to find out when does school start and finish for each school terms in each state in Australia.

Are you trying to organise your school holiday travel with family? You may want to avoid the rush in some of the Australia’s most popular holiday spots like the great ocean road, we have put together the complete list of school holidays across every state in Australia.

Choose your state.

NSW School Holidays and Term Dates

VIC School Holidays and Term Dates

QLD School Holidays and Term Dates

WA School Holidays and Term Dates

SA School Holidays and Term Dates

2023 NSW School Holidays and Term Dates

School TermDates

Summer holidays (Eastern)

Summer holidays (Western)
Wednesday 21 December – Thursday 26 January 2023

Wednesday 21 December – Thursday 2 February 2023
Term 1 (Eastern)

Term 1 (Western NSW)

Autumn school holidays
Friday 27 January – Thursday 6 April 2023

Friday 3 January – Friday 6 April 2023

Monday 10 April – Friday 21 April 2023
Term 2

Winter school holidays
Tuesday 26 April – Friday 1 July 2023

Monday 3 July – Friday 14 July 2023
Term 3

Spring school holidays
Monday 17 July – Friday 22 September 2023

Monday 25 September – Friday 6 October 2023
Term 4

Summer holidays (Eastern)

Summer holidays (Western)
Monday 9 October – Tuesday 19 December 2023

Wednesday 20 December – Monday 29 January 2024

Wednesday 20 December – Monday 5 February 2024

Check 2023 NSW Public Holidays

2023 VIC School Holidays and Term Dates

School TermDates
Summer school holidaysWednesday 21 December – Friday 27 January 2023
Term 1

Autumn school holidays
Friday 27 January – Thursday 6 April 2023

Friday 7 April – Friday 21 April 2023
Term 2

Winter school holidays
Monday 24 April – Friday 23 June 2023

Saturday 24 June – Sunday 9 July 2023
Term 3

Spring school holidays
Monday 10 July – Friday 15 September 2023

Saturday 16 September – Sunday 1 October 2023
Term 4

Summer school holidays
Monday 2 October – Wednesday 20 December 2023

Thursday 21 December – Sunday 27 January 2024

Check 2023 VIC Public Holidays

2023 QLD School Holidays and Term Dates

School TermDates
Summer school holidaysMonday 12 December – Friday 20 January 2023
Term 1

Autumn school holidays
Monday 23 January – Friday 31 March 2023

Saturday 1 April – Sunday 16 April 2023
Term 2

Winter school holidays
Monday 17 April – Friday 23 June 2023

Saturday 24 June – Sunday 9 June 2023
Term 3

Spring school holidays
Monday 10 July – Friday 15 September 2023

Saturday 16 September – Monday 2 October 2023
Term 4

Summer school holidays
Tuesday 3 October – Friday 8 December 2023

Saturday 9 December – Sunday 21 January 2024

Check 2023 QLD Public Holidays

2023 WA School Holidays and Term Dates

School TermDates
Summer school holidaysFriday 16 December – Tuesday 31 January 2023
Term 1

Autumn school holidays
Wednesday 1 February – Thursday 6 April 2023

Friday 7 April – Sunday 23 April 2023
Term 2

Winter school holidays
Monday 24 April – Friday 30 June 2023

Saturday 1 July – Sunday 16 July 2023
Term 3

Spring school holidays
Monday 17 July – Friday 22 September 2023

Saturday 23 September – Sunday 8 October 2023
Term 4

Summer school holidays
Monday 9 October – Thursday 14 December 2023

Friday 15 December – Tuesday 30 January 2024

Check 2023 WA Public Holidays

2023 SA School Holidays and Term Dates

School TermDates
Summer school holidaysMonday 19 December – Friday 27 January 2023
Term 1

Autumn school holidays
Monday 30 January – Friday 14 April 2023

Saturday 15 April – Sunday 30 April 2023
Term 2

Winter school holidays
Monday 1 May – Friday 7 July 2023

Saturday 8 July – Sunday 23 July 2023
Term 3

Spring school holidays
Monday 24 July – Friday 29 September 2023

Saturday 30 September – Sunday 15 October 2023
Term 4

Summer school holidays
Monday 16 October – Friday 15 December 2023

Saturday 16 December – Sunday 28 January 2024

Check 2023 SA Public Holidays

2023 ACT School Holidays and Term Dates

School TermDates
Summer school holidaysMonday 20 December – Friday 27 January 2023
Term 1

Autumn school holidays
Monday 30 January – Thursday 6 April 2023

Friday 7 April – Sunday 23 April 2023
Term 2

Winter school holidays
Monday 24 April – Friday 30 June 2023

Saturday 1 July – Sunday 16 July 2023
Term 3

Spring school holidays
Monday 17 July – Friday 22 September 2023

Saturday 23 September – Sunday 8 October 2023
Term 4

Summer school holidays
Monday 9 October – Friday 15 December 2023

Saturday 16 December – Sunday 28 January 2024

2023 TAS School Holidays and Term Dates

School TermDates
Summer school holidaysThursday 22 December – Tuesday 7 February 2023
Term 1

Autumn school holidays
Wednesday 8 February – Wednesday 5 April 2023

Thursday 6 April – Tuesday 25 April 2023
Term 2

Winter school holidays
Wednesday 26 April – Friday 7 July 2023

Saturday 8 July – Monday 24 July 2023
Term 3

Spring school holidays
Tuesday 25 July – Friday 29 September 2023

Saturday 30 September – Sunday 15 October 2023
Term 4

Summer school holidays
Monday 16 October – Thursday 21 December 2023

Friday 22 December 2023 – Tuesday 6 February 2024

2023 NT School Holidays and Term Dates

School TermDates
Summer school holidaysFriday 16 December – Monday 30 January 2023
Term 1

Autumn school holidays
Tuesday 31 January – Thursday 6 April 2023

Friday 7 April – Sunday 16 April 2023
Term 2

Winter school holidays
Monday 17 April – Friday 23 June 2023

Saturday 24 June – Monday 17 July 2023
Term 3

Spring school holidays
Tuesday 18 July – Friday 22 September 2023

Saturday 23 September – Sunday 8 October 2023
Term 4

Summer school holidays
Monday 9 October – Wednesday 15 December 2023

Saturday 16 December – Monday 29 January 2024

If you are looking for school holiday activities or idea, we have put together a massive list for you from cooking competition to solving puzzles in an escape room.

See full school holidays activity ideas list

Popular school holidays activities in Australia

What to Do and See in Cairns – Queensland Travel

Whitehaven Beach – Explore Whitsunday Island

Best Place and Time to Experience Snow in Australia

Popular School Holiday Activities

5 Best Family-Friendly Beaches on the Gold Coast

5 Best Family-Friendly Beaches on the Gold Coast

If you’re dreaming of a perfect day out by the ocean with your kids, we’ve got you covered. Dive into our handpicked selection of the Gold Coast’s most kid-friendly beaches, where the sand is soft, the waters are calm, and
Read more
Dinos Alive - Melbourne Dinosaur Exhibition

Dinos Alive – Melbourne Dinosaur Exhibition

Recently, a few friends have taken their kids to see the dinosaur exhibition and all said it was very interesting. So, it’s a must to arrange for our kid who loves dinosaurs. Dinos Alive – The experience When entering the
Read more
Marshmallow Laser Feast at Melbourne ACMI

Marshmallow Laser Feast at Melbourne ACMI

Where to go this weekend in Melbourne? Don’t miss the laser show! It’s not just a feast of lights and electronics; it’s more like a healing journey. Flowing light simulates the growth of trees, black holes, the universe, it’s like
Read more