School Holidays Australia 2023
Explore page

School Holidays Australia 2023

School Holidays and School Terms in Australia 2023

Check the key dates below to find out when does school start and finish for each school terms in each state in 2023.

Are you trying to organise your school holiday travel with family? You may want to avoid the rush in some of the Australia’s most popular holiday spots like the great ocean road, we have put together the complete list of school holidays across every state in Australia.

School Holidays Australia is a free tool that allows you to check school holidays and term dates in the quickest and easiest way.

Choose your state.

NSW School Holidays 2023

VIC School Holidays 2023

QLD School Holidays 2023

WA School Holidays 2023

SA School Holidays 2023

Things to do this School Holiday

If you are looking for the best places to go this school holidays or simply finding the best restaurants with playgroundmuseumszoos or waterparks make sure you check out our latest travel blog.

Find out more

2023 NSW School Holidays and Term Dates

School TermDates

Summer holidays (Eastern)

Summer holidays (Western)
Wednesday 21 December – Thursday 26 January 2023

Wednesday 21 December – Thursday 2 February 2023
Term 1 (Eastern)

Term 1 (Western NSW)

Autumn school holidays
Friday 27 January – Thursday 6 April 2023

Friday 3 January – Friday 6 April 2023

Monday 10 April – Friday 21 April 2023
Term 2

Winter school holidays
Tuesday 26 April – Friday 1 July 2023

Monday 3 July – Friday 14 July 2023
Term 3

Spring school holidays
Monday 17 July – Friday 22 September 2023

Monday 25 September – Friday 6 October 2023
Term 4

Summer holidays (Eastern)

Summer holidays (Western)
Monday 9 October – Tuesday 19 December 2023

Wednesday 20 December – Monday 29 January 2024

Wednesday 20 December – Monday 5 February 2024

Next steps

  • Plan a family vacation – This could involve deciding on a destination, booking flights and accommodation, and making arrangements for activities and sightseeing. If you need idea of planning your travel, check out our Travel Blog.
  • Arrange for child care – If you are working during the holiday period and their children are not in school, they may need to arrange for child care. This could involve finding a babysitter, enrolling the children in a holiday program or camp, or asking family members to help out.
  • Schedule activities – Schedule activities to keep your children entertained. This could involve planning outings to local attractions, organising playdates with friends, or setting up crafts or games at home. You can check over 200+ school holidays activities using our Activities Finder.
  • Adjust work schedules – This could involve taking time off work, working from home, or arranging for alternate work arrangements such as job sharing.
  • Budget planning – They can allocate money for travel, accommodation, and activities in order to ensure that they stay within their financial means. You can check out our posts to find out how you can save money this school holiday – Best ways to Save Money on Holiday Travel and How to Spend Less This Holiday.

2023 VIC School Holidays and Term Dates

School TermDates
Summer school holidaysWednesday 21 December – Friday 27 January 2023
Term 1

Autumn school holidays
Friday 27 January – Thursday 6 April 2023

Friday 7 April – Friday 21 April 2023
Term 2

Winter school holidays
Monday 24 April – Friday 23 June 2023

Saturday 24 June – Sunday 9 July 2023
Term 3

Spring school holidays
Monday 10 July – Friday 15 September 2023

Saturday 16 September – Sunday 1 October 2023
Term 4

Summer school holidays
Monday 2 October – Wednesday 20 December 2023

Thursday 21 December – Sunday 27 January 2024

2023 QLD School Holidays and Term Dates

School TermDates
Summer school holidaysMonday 12 December – Friday 20 January 2023
Term 1

Autumn school holidays
Monday 23 January – Friday 31 March 2023

Saturday 1 April – Sunday 16 April 2023
Term 2

Winter school holidays
Monday 17 April – Friday 23 June 2023

Saturday 24 June – Sunday 9 June 2023
Term 3

Spring school holidays
Monday 10 July – Friday 15 September 2023

Saturday 16 September – Monday 2 October 2023
Term 4

Summer school holidays
Tuesday 3 October – Friday 8 December 2023

Saturday 9 December – Sunday 21 January 2024

2023 WA School Holidays and Term Dates

School TermDates
Summer school holidaysFriday 16 December – Tuesday 31 January 2023
Term 1

Autumn school holidays
Wednesday 1 February – Thursday 6 April 2023

Friday 7 April – Sunday 23 April 2023
Term 2

Winter school holidays
Monday 24 April – Friday 30 June 2023

Saturday 1 July – Sunday 16 July 2023
Term 3

Spring school holidays
Monday 17 July – Friday 22 September 2023

Saturday 23 September – Sunday 8 October 2023
Term 4

Summer school holidays
Monday 9 October – Thursday 14 December 2023

Friday 15 December – Tuesday 30 January 2024

2023 SA School Holidays and Term Dates

School TermDates
Summer school holidaysMonday 19 December – Friday 27 January 2023
Term 1

Autumn school holidays
Monday 30 January – Friday 14 April 2023

Saturday 15 April – Sunday 30 April 2023
Term 2

Winter school holidays
Monday 1 May – Friday 7 July 2023

Saturday 8 July – Sunday 23 July 2023
Term 3

Spring school holidays
Monday 24 July – Friday 29 September 2023

Saturday 30 September – Sunday 15 October 2023
Term 4

Summer school holidays
Monday 16 October – Friday 15 December 2023

Saturday 16 December – Sunday 28 January 2024

2023 ACT School Holidays and Term Dates

School TermDates
Summer school holidaysMonday 20 December – Friday 27 January 2023
Term 1

Autumn school holidays
Monday 30 January – Thursday 6 April 2023

Friday 7 April – Sunday 23 April 2023
Term 2

Winter school holidays
Monday 24 April – Friday 30 June 2023

Saturday 1 July – Sunday 16 July 2023
Term 3

Spring school holidays
Monday 17 July – Friday 22 September 2023

Saturday 23 September – Sunday 8 October 2023
Term 4

Summer school holidays
Monday 9 October – Friday 15 December 2023

Saturday 16 December – Sunday 28 January 2024

2023 TAS School Holidays and Term Dates

School TermDates
Summer school holidaysThursday 22 December – Tuesday 7 February 2023
Term 1

Autumn school holidays
Wednesday 8 February – Wednesday 5 April 2023

Thursday 6 April – Tuesday 25 April 2023
Term 2

Winter school holidays
Wednesday 26 April – Friday 7 July 2023

Saturday 8 July – Monday 24 July 2023
Term 3

Spring school holidays
Tuesday 25 July – Friday 29 September 2023

Saturday 30 September – Sunday 15 October 2023
Term 4

Summer school holidays
Monday 16 October – Thursday 21 December 2023

Friday 22 December 2023 – Tuesday 6 February 2024

2023 NT School Holidays and Term Dates

School TermDates
Summer school holidaysFriday 16 December – Monday 30 January 2023
Term 1

Autumn school holidays
Tuesday 31 January – Thursday 6 April 2023

Friday 7 April – Sunday 16 April 2023
Term 2

Winter school holidays
Monday 17 April – Friday 23 June 2023

Saturday 24 June – Monday 17 July 2023
Term 3

Spring school holidays
Tuesday 18 July – Friday 22 September 2023

Saturday 23 September – Sunday 8 October 2023
Term 4

Summer school holidays
Monday 9 October – Wednesday 15 December 2023

Saturday 16 December – Monday 29 January 2024

If you are looking for school holiday activities or idea, we have put together a massive list for you from cooking competition to solving puzzles in an escape room.

See full school holidays activity ideas list

Popular school holidays activities in Australia

What to Do and See in Cairns – Queensland Travel

Whitehaven Beach – Explore Whitsunday Island

Best Place and Time to Experience Snow in Australia

School Holidays Australia 2023

What to do in School Holidays Australia in 2023?

The Secret Garden in Sydney Paddington

The Secret Garden in Sydney Paddington

We had an afternoon tea in Paddington last weekend. This artistic district lives up to its reputation. There are many cozy little coffee shops and bookstores where you can relax after a stroll. While you’re here, don’t miss out on
Read more
The Famous Sydney KOI Dessert Bar Finally Comes to Melbourne

The Famous Sydney KOI Dessert Bar Finally Comes to Melbourne

We received a VIP email saying KOI (opened by a MasterChef) has opened in Melbourne. We can’t even remember how many years KOI has been around. We’ve been enjoying it in Sydney for the past seven years. The store has
Read more
The Darling Harbour Ice Rink is Back

The Darling Harbour Ice Rink is Back

There’s a new spot to take the kids for some fun during the school holidays! The Darling Harbour ice rink is back. The ice rink is located right in front of the IMAX Theatre. Open from today until July 21st.
Read more